To recognize one young lawyer in the D/FW metroplex who best demonstrates professional proficiency, service to the profession, and service to the community.

To be eligible for the DAYL Outstanding Young Lawyer Award, nominees must:

  • be licensed to practice law in Texas,
  • have paid membership dues prescribed by the Supreme Court of Texas,
  • be a member in good standing of the State Bar of Texas, and
  • be an attorney licensed twelve years or less at the beginning of each year (January 1).

Please note: Current officers and directors of the Texas Young Lawyers Association, and members of the TYLA Outstanding Young Lawyer of Texas Awards Committee are not eligible to receive this award. In addition, the current DAYL President and Immediate Past President are not eligible to receive the Outstanding Young Lawyer Award.

The DAYL Awards Committee will consider all outstanding qualities of a nominee including, but not limited to:

  • professional proficiency,
  • service to the profession,
  • service to the community, and/or
  • a reputation for or the advancement of legal ethics and professional responsibility

Nominations must be received no later than 11:59pm, Friday, March 8, 2024. Submit the entry form and any supporting materials to Cherie Harris. If you have any questions about the nomination form or process, please contact DAYL President-Elect BB Sanford.

The recipient of the DAYL Outstanding Young Lawyer Award will be submitted to the Texas Young Lawyers Association for consideration for the statewide Outstanding Young Lawyer Award.

A nomination form can be found here.

Below are the past recipients of the DAYL Outstanding Young Lawyer Award.

2024 Dennis Siaw-Lattey
2023 Janet Landry Smith
2022 Paige Tackett
2021 Jennifer Larson Ryback
2020 Leslie Chaggaris
2019 Marisa Jeffrey O’Sullivan
**2018 Alexandra Guio
*2017 Julie Pettit
2016 Judge Christine Nowak
2015 Sakina Rasheed
*2014 Mandisa “Mandy” Price
*2013 Brittany Byrd
2012 Chad West
*2011 Omar Alaniz
2010 Jennifer Tobin
*2009 Cheryl Camin
* 2008 Sheri Crosby
2007 Jay Ray
2006 Tonya Parker
* 2005 Robert D. Crain
2004 Monica Wiseman Latin
2003 Robert J. Witte
2002 Karin R. Crump
* 2001 Michael K. Hurst
2000 Cynthia Figueroa Calhoun
* 1999 A. Nick Pittman
1998 Christina Melton Crain
1997 Terri L. Hagan and Jeffrey R. Bragalone
1996 Kelly R. Harrington
1995 A. Darby Dickerson
1994 Laura Ann Frase
* 1993 Dennis Gibson
1992 Kelly McClure
1991 Ralph Rodriguez
1990 Jane Makela
1989 David Kent
1988 Penny Parker
1987 Brenda Garrett
1986 Toby Gerber

* Also Won Statewide Outstanding Young Lawyer Award (TYLA).
** Also Won National Outstanding Young Lawyer Award (ABA/YLD).