The DAYL Outstanding Mentor Award is awarded to a lawyer in Dallas who has consistently demonstrated a commitment to mentoring young lawyers in his or her legal community.  Nominees must be licensed to practice law in Texas, have paid membership dues prescribed by the Supreme Court of Texas, and be members in good standing of the State Bar.  The Awards Committee will consider all outstanding qualities of a nominee, including (1) service as a role model to young lawyers in the legal community; (2) fostering the development of young lawyers; and (3) significant contributions to the profession and/or the community.  Lawyers of any age are eligible to receive this award.

Please send your questions, nominations, and other information for consideration to Cherie Harris. A nomination form can be found here.

Below are the former recipients of the DAYL Outstanding Mentor Award.

2021 Judge Amber Givens
2020 Penny Reid
2019 Dena DeNooyer Stroh
2018 Kate Morris
2017 Meyling “Mey” Ly Ortiz
2016 Tricia DeLeon
2015 Judge D. Michael Lynn
*2014 Michael K. Hurst
*2013 Judge Harlin D. “Cooter” Hale
*2012 Judge Martin Hoffman
*2011 Christina Melton Crain
*2010 Judge Tonya Parker
2009 Judge Irma Ramirez
2008 Justice Douglas S. Lang
2007 Judge Sam A. Lindsey

* Also Won Statewide Award.